Detective Bureau


The Detective Division consists of a Detective Sergeant and six Detectives and is run by a Detective Lieutenant. The bureau follows up on all crimes reported to our department. Within our bureau, individual detectives have been trained to investigate specific types of crimes.


Presently, we have detectives assigned to the areas of:

  • Arson
  • Domestic violence
  • Evidence and property management
  • Fraud
  • High priority arrest warrants
  • Identity theft
  • Megan’s law processing
  • Narcotics
  • Obtaining sworn statements as basis for criminal complaints
  • Processing and photographing of all crime scenes
  • Robberies
  • Sex crimes
  • Weapons confiscations

Also under the umbrella of the Detective Division are two additional detectives under the supervision of a Detective Sergeant that follow up on crimes committed by juveniles and family offense issues.


Our Detectives work closely with other local police departments and federal and state agencies. Members of the bureau also coordinate the departments’ cases with the Essex County Prosecutor’s Office, Division of Youth and Family Services and the New Jersey Attorney Generals Office.