357 South Livingston
Livingston, NJ 07039-3994
Phone (973) 992-5000
Fax (973) 535-7967
of Health, Welfare and Human Services
Livingston Senior & Community Center
204 Hillside Avenue -
Livingston, NJ 07039
973 535-7961 - Fax: 973 535-3234
E. Anello, Director
APPLYING FOR A MARRIAGE/CIVIL UNION LICENSE
How do I Apply For a Marriage /Civil Union License?
The license must be obtained from the municipality in which either party resides, if they live in New Jersey. If both parties live outside of New Jersey the license must be obtained in the municipality in which the ceremony takes place.
A license applied for and issued in New Jersey may never be used outside of New Jersey, and a license issued in another state may never be used in New Jersey.
Click HERE to apply for a Marriage/Civil Union application.
When Should You Apply For Your Marriage License/Civil Union?
State law prohibits the issuance of a license sooner than 72 hours after application for a Marriage/Civil Union license has been made (unless a court order has been obtained which waives the 72-hour waiting period).
Thus, if the ceremony is scheduled for a Saturday or a Sunday, the application should be made no later than the preceding Tuesday. It is important to know the intended date of the ceremony at the time application is made to insure compliance of the 72-hour waiting period.
If either party is unable to complete the application at the same time, either applicant may complete their part of the application and start the 72-hour waiting period. The other applicant must return with the same witness to complete their part of the application. The application must be completed by both parties before the license can be issued.
Once the Marriage/Civil Union license is issued, the ceremony must take place within 30 days. If, for whatever reason, either parties can only apply for their license several months prior to the intended date of Marriage/Civil Union, the license simply remains in the files of the Registrar until the license is issued within 30 days of the wedding (arrangements made at time of application).
What Should Each Applicant Bring When Applying For A Marriage/Civil Union License?
a. Birth Certificate (translated in English)
b. A witness, who is at least 18 years of age who knows both parties;
c. If one or both of the applicants are divorced, a copy of the final decree(s) is required.
d. If one or both of the applicants have had a previous Civil Union dissolved, Domestic Partnership terminated or have had a Civil Union annulled, please bring the decree(s) or the civil annulment documents.
e. If former spouse/Civil Union or domestic partner is deceased, please bring the death certificate.
f. $28 is the fee, payable by cash or check
g. Proof of address such as driver’s license or utility bill.
Requirements For Entering Into A Civil Union:
For two people to establish a Civil Union in New Jersey, they must satisfy all of the following requirements:
a. Not be a party to another Civil Union, Domestic Partnership or Marriage in this state or that is recognized by this state*;
b. Be of the same sex ; and
c. Be at least 18 years of age, except that applicants under 18 may enter into a Civil Union with parental consent. Applicants under age 16 must obtain parental consent and have the consent approved in writing by any judge of the Superior Court, Chancery Division, Family Part.
Same sex couples who meet the above requirements and are registered as domestic partners may enter into a Civil Union with the same person without terminating their Domestic Partnership first. If the Domestic Partnership was registered in New Jersey, it automatically terminates when the Civil Union is registered. If the Domestic Partnership was registered in another state, that state’s laws determine the impact on the Domestic Partnership. A couple that has previously entered into a Civil Union or a Same-Sex Marriage shall apply for a Reaffirmation of Civil Union License.
Requirements For Entering Into A Reaffirmation
For two people to establish a Reaffirmation of Civil Union in New Jersey, they must be able to provide proof, in the form of a certified copy, that they are currently registered in a Civil Union in this state or a Civil Union/Same-Sex Marriage in another state and meet the requirements of the New Jersey Civil Union Act.
The Reaffirmation of Civil Union License requires that the reaffirmation be between the same two partners who entered into the original Civil Union/same-sex Marriage.
In addition, both applicants must be at least 18 years of age, except that applicants under 18 may enter into a Reaffirmation of Civil Union with parental consent. Applicants under age 16 must obtain parental consent and have the consent approved in writing by any judge of the Superior Court, Chancery Division, Family Part. If the Civil Union partners entered into their original Civil Union in New Jersey, they need not re-obtain parental or judicial consent.